leicester title 13 568Leicester Riders’ Rob Paternostro has been named as BBL Coach of the Year after leading the club to its first-ever British Basketball League title, as well as the Cup, with Drew Sullivan named as MVP.

The American coach was a unanimous choice in voting by members of the Basketball Journalists Association, receiving first place votes on every ballot cast.

It is the second time Paternostro has won the annual award.

Sheffield Sharks’ Atiba Lyons was runner-up with Surrey Heat’s Creon Raftopulous third.

It was the second time that Sullivan had claimed the MVP prize, voted on by the league’s coaches.

“Sometimes the better player is the guy that is influential throughout the game” said Paternostro.

“And, I don’t think there is a bigger or better player that influences games in our league than Drew Sullivan.”

There was a third reason for Riders to celebrate since Jay Couisnard took second place in the voting, followed by Travis Holmes of Surrey Heat who had a particularly outstanding last part of the season and has helped Heat into the semi-finals of the BBL Play-Offs.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • MySpace
  • Print

You must be logged in to post a comment Login