Great Britain have named a preliminary 24-man squad for this month’s opening FIBA World Cup 2023 qualifiers.

With head coach Nate Reinking again absent, Marc Steutel will continue to deputise for the double-header against Greece, in Newcastle, and Turkey in Istanbul.

Aaron Menzies and Deane Williams, based in Spain and France respectively, are the first-time call-ups with all 12 players from February’s EuroBasket 2022 qualifying window included in the initial grouping.

Teddy Okereafor will set a new British Basketball record for most consecutive internationals played if he is selected for the first game against Greece, after the Cheshire Phoenix guard tied the current record of 49, been held by Bill McInnes since 1976, in February against France.

Dan Clark, currently on 108 caps, moves closer to becoming GB’s all-time men’s international Cap winner with only Eric Boateng now ahead of him.

GB play Greece on 25 November and Turkey on 28 November.

The side begins World Cup qualifying in unprecedented form having now won 11 of their past 13 games. A 94-73 victory over Tokyo Olympic silver medallists France and a thrilling 83-81 win over Olympic participants Germany in February secured GB’s place at next summer’s EuroBasket.

NAME Pos Age Club Caps
Jamell Anderson F 31 Manchester Giants (GBR) 2
Kavell Bigby-Williams F/C 26 Anwil Wloclawek (POL) 6
Dan Clark F/C 33 Manchester Giants (GBR) 108
Ashley Hamilton F 33 Basquet Coruna (ESP) 28
Myles Hesson F 31 Saga Ballooners (JPN) 45
Kyle Johnson G 32 Unattached 83
Sacha Killeya-Jones F/C 23 Hapoel Gilboa Galil (ISR) 8
Dwayne Lautier-Ogunleye G 25 APU Udine (ITA) 8
Aaron Menzies C 25 Alicante (ESP) 0
Ben Mockford G 32 Cheshire Phoenix (GBR) 43
Gareth Murray F 37 Glasgow Rocks (GBR) 62
Luke Nelson G 26 ESSMLe Portel (FRA) 25
Teddy Okereafor G 29 Cheshire Phoenix (GBR) 49
Gabe Olaseni C 29 Darussafaka (TUR) 40
Tarik Phillip G 28 Reyer Venezia (ITA) 10
Kareem Queeley G/F 20 San Pablo Purgos (ESP) 1
Jacob Round G 21 CB Zamora (ESP) 3
Ovie Soko F 30 Shiga Lakestars (JPN) 12
Morayo Soluade G/F 26 Basquet Coruna (ESP) 6
Devon Van Oostrum G 28 CB Penas Huesca (ESP) 40
Carl Wheatle F 23 Pistoia (ITA) 15
Deane Williams F 25 Saint-Quentin (FRA) 0
Akwasi Yeboah F 24 Saint-Chamond Basket (FRA) 4

Coaching & Performance Staff

Acting Head Coach: Marc Steutel

Assistant Coaches: Jamie Smith, Andreas Kapoulas, Head Performance Analyst: Adam Sewell

Team Manager & Head of Delegation: Chris Morris

Head Sports Therapist: Tom Cresswell, Physiotherapist: Aaron Wharton, Covid-19 Compliance Officer: Kevin Campbell-Karn, Team Doctor: Dr Matthew Brown


Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • MySpace
  • Print

You must be logged in to post a comment Login