Great Britain international Luol Deng has been nominated for the FIBA Europe Player of the Year award in a list dominated by NBA players.

The Chicago Bulls forward is one of ten put forward for the annual honour after being short-listed for the first time in his career following his strong showing in last summer’s Eurobasket qualifiers.

Milos Teodosic is also on the list (FIBA)

Deng’s competition includes previous winners Pau Gasol and Dirk Nowitzki as well as Toronto Raptors team-mates Andrea Bargnani and Linas Kleiza.

FC Barcelona guard Juan Carlos Navarro and Olympiakos guard Milos Teodosic are the only European-based players included.

Navarro’s international team-mate Ricky Rubio, who disappointed at Eurobasket, remains among the favourites for the Young Player award after he led his team to the Euroleague title.

Ekaterinburg’s Polish star Agnes Bibrzycka is the early front-runner for the Women’s Player of the Year honour.

While Euro Under-20 Championship MVP Anastasia Logunova of Russia and Dynamo Moscow heads the nominees for the Young Women’s prize.

Fan voting is now open at until January 31.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • MySpace
  • Print

You must be logged in to post a comment Login