Blake Griffin has been named NBA Rookie Of The Year – the first unaninmous choice since David Robinson back in the 1989-90 season.

The Los Angeles Clippers forward received 118 first-place votes (590 points). Washington’s John Wall finished second with 295 points and Sacramento’s DeMarcus Cousins finished third with 81 points. Players were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote.
Griffin, who was selected first overall in the 2009 NBA Draft but missed the entire 2009-10 season due to injury,  recorded a rookie (and team) leading 22.5 ppg (12th in the league), 12.1 rpg (fourth overall) and 63 double-doubles (third overall). He was the only player in the NBA to average at least 20 points, 12 rebounds and three assists.

Griffin became the first rookie to appear in an NBA All-Star Game since Yao Ming in 2003 – and won the Sprite Slam Dunk contest.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • MySpace
  • Print

You must be logged in to post a comment Login