Spain have confirmed their 15-man preliminary squad to defend their EuroBasket title in Lithuania.

NBA quintet Pau Gasol, Rudy Fernandez, Jose Calderon, Marc Gasol and Ricky Rubio highlight the selections from head coach Sergio Scariolo which will meet Great Britain in the opening round.

However veteran trio Alex Mumbru, Raul Lopez, and Fran Vazquez have all been cut after an initial training camp.

Naturalised Congolese forward Serge Ibaka of the Oklahoma City Thunder is, as expected, in the line-up.

FC Barcelona guard Victor Sada, with one cap, and Xavi Rey, who has yet to make his Spain debut, are also included in a side that will likely be captained by Juan Carlos Navarro.

Spain squad: Juan Carlos Navarro, Felipe Reyes, Pau Gasol, Rudy Fernandez, Jose Manuel Calderon, Marc Gasol, Ricky Rubio, Victor Claver, Sergio Llull, Fernando San Emeterio, Carlos Suarez, Rafa Martinez, Victor Sada, Serge Ibaka, Xavi Rey.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • MySpace
  • Print

You must be logged in to post a comment Login