world cup 2014 alt logo 568The draw for the group stages of this summer’s FIBA World Cup has paired hosts Spain with old rivals France and Serbia. 

The 2011 European champions will face their successors in Group A with Brazil, Egypt and Iran also in the Granada-based pool.

“We got the toughest group for the World Cup,” said French captain Boris Diaw.

Defending champions, the United States, have been handed a relatively kind draw but will get a re-match of the 2010 final in Bilbao when they take on Turkey. Their pool also includes Finland, Ukraine, Dominican Republic and New Zealand.

Argentina will be in Pool B with Senegal, Philippines, Croatia, Puerto Rico, Greece. While EuroBasket 2013 runners-up Lithuania head Group D in Gran Canaria with Angola, Korea, Slovenia, Mexico, Australia.

The top four from each group progress into the knockout stages.

The World Cup opens up on 30 August with the final in Madrid on 14 September.


Group A (Granada): Spain, Egypt, Iran, Serbia, Brazil, France

Group B (Sevilla): Argentina, Senegal, Philippines, Croatia, Puerto Rico, Greece

Group C (Bilbao): USA, Finland, New Zealand, Ukraine, Dominican Republic, Turkey

Group D (Gran Canaria): Lithuania, Angola, Korea, Slovenia, Mexico, Australia

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • MySpace
  • Print

You must be logged in to post a comment Login