Will creekmoreWorcester Wolves centre Will Creekmore has been named as the BBL Player of the Year in the Basketball Journalists Association’s annual awards for the 2013-14 season.

The American, one of the key figures in Worcester’s run to this Sunday’s BBL Playoff Final at Wembley, was a runaway vote-getter in the poll of media who regularly cover the sport, with team-mate Zaire Taylor in second place and Victor Moses of Cheshire Phoenix in third.

Newcastle Eagles player-coach Fabulous Flournoy has been confirmed as the BBL Coach of the Year for the third time in four years, following on from the Eagles’ capture of a sixth British Basketball League title of his reign.

Flournoy headed the voting ballots ahead of Worcester Wolves’ play caller Paul James, who was runner-up, with Lee Davie of Durham Wildcats recognised for his team’s highest-ever finish.

The Pete Jacques Award for best British player in the BBL has gone to Manchester Giants’ shooting guard James Jones, who headed the ballot ahead of colleague David Aliu and Newcastle’s Darius Defoe who were tied for second place.

Leedham is Lipski winner (Mansoor Ahmed/BB)

Leedham is Lipski winner (Mansoor Ahmed/BB)

For the first time, the prestigious Syd Lipski International Award for top British performer on the global stage will be received by a female player in 2014.

Great Britain international Jo Leedham, the leading performer in the national team’s run to the second round of EuroBasket Women 2013, is rewarded for her role in helping French club Bourges to the semi-finals of the Euroleague, as well as retaining their domestic league crown.

The Cheshire-born guard came ahead of Cleveland Cavaliers forward Luol Deng, the 2013 winner, with GB international Myles Hesson – current with German side Giessen – in third.

“Leedham has had an outstanding season for club and country and it is fitting she picks up the Lipski Award,” said BJA Secretary Mark Woods.

“Creekmore has been a consistent force for Worcester while Jones is just one of several homegrown stars who have had huge roles in Manchester’s return to prominence.

“Along with Fab, we congratulate all of the winners.”

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • MySpace
  • Print

You must be logged in to post a comment Login