The San Antonio Spurs have been crowned as the NBA champions for the fifth time in 15 years after completing a 4-1 series victory over the Miami Heat.

Kawhi Leonard was named the MVP of the Finals with the Spurs asserting their dominance by overturning an early 16-point deficit to deliver a 104-87 rout that ended the Heat’s two-year reign at the top and avenged their narrow miss of 12 months ago.

“Last year’s loss was devastating,” said San Antonio coach Gregg Popovich.

“I’ve said many times, a day didn’t go by where I didn’t think about Game 6.

Leonard: MVP (NBAE/Getty)

Leonard: MVP (NBAE/Getty)

“So I think just in general, for the group to have the fortitude that they showed to get back to this spot, I think speaks volumes about how they’re constituted and what kind of fibre they have.”

LeBron James, the four-time NBA MVP, tried his utmost with 31 points on the night, but sat out the final six minutes as the hosts, sparked by a third-quarter blitz from Patty Mills, coasted back to the summit.

“They were the much better team,” James said. “That’s how team basketball should be played. It’s selfless. Guys move, cut, pass, you’ve got a shot, you take it, but it’s all for the team and it’s never about the individual.”

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • MySpace
  • Print

You must be logged in to post a comment Login