Nicole How and Hannah Peacock are the two final cuts as Pete Buckle confirmed Great Britain’s squad for EuroBasket Women.

How has been diagnosed with a concussion incurred during the build-up and has been omitted on medical advice while Peacock drops back into the Under-20s.

It leaves GB with five major tournament rookies including two U20 promotions in guard Jay-Ann Bravo-Harriott and centre Harriet Ottewill-Soulsby,

“We are excited by what lies in wait this week,” said Buckle, whose side face Russia in their opener on Friday.

“We have put in a lot of work and now we will test ourselves at the tournament.

“It will be a challenge, but you always expect to play the best when you go into a competition like EuroBasket Women.

“It was difficult to have to wave goodbye to Nicole as injury meant she couldn’t continue which is a pity, because she would have been in our side.

“However, she never really recovered from a blow she took to the head in one of the preparation games and she has been withdrawn on medical advice due to issues around the concussion she sustained.

“As for Hannah, she continues to make big strides and is someone who will be involved with the senior team in the future.

“She has worked hard and will be a big factor this summer for the U20 team again.”

Dominique Allen (SBS Ostrava, CZE)
Jay-Ann Bravo-Harriott (University of Toledo, USA)
Stef Collins (Cardiff Met Archers)
Ella Clark (Zamarat, ESP)
Temi Fagbenle (Harvard, USA)
Stephanie Gandy (Sheffield Hatters)
Chantelle Handy (Ormanspor, TUR)
Erin McGarrachan (Houston Baptist, USA)
Harriet Ottewill-Soulsby (Lafayette, USA)
Eilidh Simpson (St Francis Brooklyn, USA)
Azania Stewart (Pinkk Pesci 424, HUN)
Rachael Vanderwal (Gernika Bizkaia, ESP)

more follows

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • MySpace
  • Print

You must be logged in to post a comment Login