Drew Sullivan is set to make it a century of Great Britain caps, against New Zealand next month. 

The long-time captain, whose club future with London Lions remains uncertain, will return to the Copper Box after being confirmed in a youthful squad for the friendly with the Tall Blacks on July 25, with GB coach Joe Prunty opting to run his eye over a number of fresh faces – including Bosnia-born centre Fahro Alihodzic and Cameroon-born guard Jules Dang Akodo – during what will be a five-day training camp in the capital.

Sullivan will become the first British male player to hit the 100-cap milestone in what is expected to be his final international appearance, although it is understood the veteran will miss the start of the camp due to a family vacation after being originally given incorrect schedule information by National Teams director Warwick Cann.

Prunty, as expected, will not have the services of NBA duo Luol Deng and Joel Freeland for the team’s lone game in 2015 – with their next competitive fixture not due until August 2016 and the qualifiers for EuroBasket 2017.

“While it will be short, it will be extremely important for the growth of GB basketball and the continued development of basketball in the UK,” said Prunty, who will also take a GB Futures team to a tournament with Netherlands and Portugal during August.

“We are proud of the players who continue to devote their time to represent Great Britain. Every summer creates unique professional and personal challenges for the team and each individual player – this year will be no different.

“We are particularly looking forward to the contest at the Copper Box.”

Eric Boateng, Ali Fraser and Ogo Adegboye are all injured while Gareth Murray is among a number of players to be rested.

Full squad: Kieron Achara (Glasgow Rocks); Fahro Alihodzic (Estudiantes Concordia); Christian Behrens (University of California); Chris Caird (Drake University); Dan Clark (Fuenlabrada); Jules Dang Akodo (Eintracht Frankfurt); Robert Gilchrist (BG Karlsruhe); Paul Guede (Worcester Wolves); Ashley Hamilton (Sagesse); Joe Hart (Penas Huesca); Myles Hesson (Eisbaeren Bremerhaven); Ben Mockford (Plymouth Raiders); Teddy Okereafor (Rider University); Gabe Olaseni (University of Iowa); Morayo Soluade (Malaga); Will Saunders (Charleston Southern University); Ovie Soko (Boulazac); *Drew Sullivan (London Lions); Alex Young (University of California-Irvine)

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • MySpace
  • Print

You must be logged in to post a comment Login