China has been awarded the 2019 FIBA World Cup, beating out the Philippines to host the showpiece.

It came after a vote of FIBA’s board in Tokyo where Brazil were also award men and women’s spots at the 2016 Olympics after agreeing to settle a debt owed to the governing body.

In an unexpected move, the format for the Olympic Qualifying Tournament for Men has been altered to have three tournaments consisting of six teams each, with the winning team from each event earning a berth for Rio 2016.

The Olympic Qualifying Tournament for Women will remain with its proven format of a 12-teams tournament, from which 5 teams will qualify to Rio 2016. The four tournaments (3 men and 1 Women) will be held in June/July 2016.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • MySpace
  • Print

You must be logged in to post a comment Login