FIBA have revealed that their new Basketball Champions League will consist of 32 teams.

The new competition, slated to start next season, remains tangled in a battle for power with the Euroleague, despite claims from several Federations – including France and Italy – that they will force clubs to take part in FIBA’s venture.

It is to be initially divided into four groups of eight with the top 16 to advance to the final stages and the remaining 16 to drop into a second-tier Cup.

Although the invitees from national leagues are yet to be unveiled, FIBA officials confirmed “qualification to the league would be based on sporting merit.”

The league, which now has a logo, will officially be launched in Paris on March 20.

Euroleague sides have insisted they will not take part after securing their own investment deal with IMG.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • MySpace
  • Print

You must be logged in to post a comment Login