Debutants Carl Wheatle, Jules Dang and Luke Nelson have been confirmed in Great Britain’s final 12-man squad for the EuroBasket in Istanbul which starts next week.

Kieron Achara will captain the team which will meet Belgium in its opening game on Friday 1 September before meeting global powers Serbia, Russia and Turkey in the pool phase.

“We’re very fortunate to be in a situation that we’re in a group with some unbelievable talent,” said the Glasgow Rocks forward. “There are no bad teams at EuroBasket.”

GB – who beat Hungary 82-64 in a friendly in Warsaw on Thursday – also learnt they will meet Estonia in the qualifiers for the 2019 World Cup in China after the final groups were drawn yesterday. Greece and Israel will make up the four-team pool with Glasgow’s Emirates Arena set to stage up to two qualification ties next summer.

0 Jules Dang 6’1 21 Burgos (ESP)
1 Kyle Johnson 6’4 28 London Lightning (CAN)
2 Carl Wheatle 6’6 19 Biella (ITA)
3 Ben Mockford 6’1 28 Palma (ESP)
4 Andrew Lawrence 6’3 27 Champagne Chalon-Reims (FRA)
5 Teddy Okereafor 6’3 24 GS Kymis (GRE)
10 Dan Clark 6’10 28 Unattached
11 Gareth Murray 6’7 32 Glasgow Rocks (BBL)
13 Eric Boateng 6’11 31 St Vallier Basket Drome (FRA)
19 Luke Nelson 6’4 22 Gran Canaria (ESP)
20 Kieron Achara 6’10 34 Glasgow Rocks (BBL)
25 Gabe Olaseni 6’10 25 Fuenlabrada (ESP)

Head Coach: Joe Prunty
Assistants: Nate Reinking, Kenny Graves, Alberto Lorenzo
Physiotherapist: Paul Fisher
Strength & Conditioning Coach: Jamie McCarthy
Sports Therapist: Nick McCarthy
Performance Analyst: Jamie Smith
Team Doctor: Dane Vishnubala

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • MySpace
  • Print

You must be logged in to post a comment Login