England head coach José Maria Buceta has unveiled a 23-women initial squad for the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

It is identical to the recent GB squad named for the opening EuroBasket 2019 qualifiers which contained no Scottish or Welsh players, and incorporates seven Olympians.

They include Jo Leedham-Warner and Temi Fagbenle, even though neither will likely be available for the Gold Coast trip, with the bulk of the squad coming from the WBBL which has agreed to shut down for three weeks around the Games.

GB’s record cap holder Stef Collins, who was born on a US military base in England, is included as is Eilidh Simpson who, with parents on both sides of the border, has opted to compete for England on a Commonwealth level despite interest from Scotland.

England’s Women begin their Commonwealth Games campaign on 6 April 2018 against Canada before further games against Mozambique and Australia.

Dominique Allen, Manchester Mystics

Jennifer Ashton, Sheffield Hatters

Mollie Campbell, Leicester Riders

Stef Collins, Cardiff Met Archers

Melita Emanuel-Carr, CABC Basket (FRA)

Temi Fagbenle, CCC Polkowice (POL)

Christina Gaskin, BA London Lions

Chantelle Handy, Team Northumbria

Georgia Jones, Manchester Mystics

Shequila Joseph, Fassi Albino (ITA)

Johannah Leedham-Warner, Villeneuve D’Ascq (FRA)

Janice Monakana, Nottingham Wildcats

Helen Naylor, Sheffield Hatters

Harriet Ottewill-Soulsby, Durham Palatinates

Chantelle Pressley, Sevenoaks Suns

Siobhan Prior, Nottingham Wildcats

Nicolette Fong Lyew Quee, Durham Palatinates

Hannah Shaw, Nottingham Wildcats

Eilidh Simpson, Cardiff Met Archers

Azania Stewart, TTT Riga (LAT)

Hannah Sunley-Paisley, St-Paul Reze (FRA)

Jamila Thompson, Leicester Riders

Rachael Vanderwal, Ferrol (ESP)

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • MySpace
  • Print

You must be logged in to post a comment Login