Great Britain have named a 12-strong squad for this month’s crucial EuroBasket 2021 pre-qualifying clashes.
Kyle Johnson and Conner Washington are recalled for the ties in Manchester against Cyprus on Thursday 21 February and away to Austria on Sunday 24 February while there is a debut for Danish-based, Jamaican-born forward Ryan Martin.

With captain Dan Clark set for his 100th cap, Alberto Lorenzo’s men need to win their remaining two games in order to advance to the EuroBasket 2021 qualifying stages, otherwise they face a third and final pre-qualifying route this summer.

GB will look to do the double over Cyprus at the National Basketball Performance Centre in Belle Vue, Manchester, defeating them 75-61 in Nicosia the last time they met on 3 December.

However, they need to better Austria’s 14-point win in November as 18 points from Myles Hesson wasn’t enough as the Austrians secured a 96-82 win on 29 November.

Lorenzo said: “I am pleased to be able to name such an exciting roster of players and I’m looking forward to getting into camp and working with this group ahead of the games against Cyprus and Austria.

“We know the task ahead of us, what we need to do, and now we have to make sure we execute. It’s going to be an important window for us but I believe we have what it takes to qualify from our group.”

Lorenzo hands a first summons to Bakken Bears’ Martin while Ryan Richards, Justin Robinson and Ogo Adegboye among those omitted.

Lorenzo said: “I want to offer my congratulations to both Conner and Ryan for working hard and earning their places in this team.

“I’m sure they will make the most of the opportunity alongside some of the more experienced players. Hopefully they can both make an impact during this window and become long term additions to our plans.”

Great Britain squad: Dan Clark (Fuenlabrada, Spain), Myles Hesson (Gravelines, France), Kyle Johnson (Maritime Boulogne, France), Andrew Lawrence (Benacquista, Italy), Ryan Martin (Bakken Bears, Denmark),  Gareth Murray (Glasgow Rocks), Teddy Okereafor (Holargos, Greece), Gabe Olaseni (Wurzburg, Germany), Ovie Soko (Murcia, Spain), Josh Steel (Força Lleida, Spain), Conner Washington (Leicester Riders), Carl Wheatle (Biella, Italy)

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • MySpace
  • Print

You must be logged in to post a comment Login