UMMC Ekaterinburg retained the Euroleague Women title with a 91-67 win over Dynamo Kursk.

In an all-Russian final in Sopron, the champions were led by 18 points and 8 rebounds from Courtney Vandersloot and a MVP performance from Brittney Griner who added 16 points, 10 boards and 4 blocks.

The victory was overshadowed by an injury to Kursk’s Breanna Stewart with the WNBA MVP potentially missing next season after a suspected Achilles tear sustained late in the second quarter after scoring a team-best 12 points.

But the result also confirmed Alba Torrens as the first Spanish player to win EuroLeague Women for a fifth time. She also won with Perfumerias Avenida (2011) and Galatasaray (2014) – as well as twice previously with UMMC in 2016 and 2018.

iframe width=”560″ height=”315″ src=”https://www.youtube.com/embed/nE51KwWO1IU” frameborder=”0″ allow=”accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture” allowfullscreen>

Earlier in the evening, ZVVZ USK Praha took third place with a 64-53 triumph against host club Sopron.

Photo: FIBA

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • MySpace
  • Print

You must be logged in to post a comment Login