The BBL have revealed radical format changes for the 2019-20 campaign.

A best-of-three series format will be introduced next season to the Quarter-Final and Semi-Final stages of the BBL Play-Offs ahead of the post-season Finals at The O2 in May, 2020.

Qualification remains the same with the top eight teams in the BBL Championship standings advancing to the Play-Offs, though the regular season now changes to consist of 22 games with the teams playing each other once home and away.

The 2019-20 season will begin in September with BBL Cup action as the start of the regular Championship season follows the conclusion of a new group stage. The 12 BBL sides will be split into two groups of six to play home and away fixtures before the top four in each group advance to the Quarter-Finals.

The top two in each group will host the one-legged ties in the last eight before the Semi-Finals are played over two legs to decide the two teams heading to Arena Birmingham for the Cup Finals on Sunday 26 January.

Help MVP create more great content – become a site supporter now.

The BBL Trophy will remain the same with the adopted bracket format used for the current 2018-19 season retained. The path to the Finals – at Glasgow’s Emirates Arena, in March – is mapped out with a First Round draw as the 12 BBL sides will again be joined by four invited non-BBL sides.

However it has been confirmed that Birmingham Rockets, who had been tipped to move into the top flight, will not join the BBL next season.

Fixtures for next term will be revealed in full during the summer.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • MySpace
  • Print

You must be logged in to post a comment Login