France and Spain are to co-host FIBA Women’s EuroBasket 2021.

While Germany, Czech Republic, Georgia and Italy are confirmed as the four co-host nations of the men’s EuroBasket 2021.

Valencia and Lyon will host the group stages and quarter-finals of the female showpiece from 17-23 June.

The semi-finals and final will be held in Paris at theAccorHotels Arena which has a 15,000 capacity.

During the formal bidding in Munich, the Board heard presentations from France and Spain as a joint bid, Sweden and Ukraine.

FIBA Europe President Turgay Demirel commented: “France and Spain are at the forefront of women’s basketball in Europe, as evidenced by the fact they have met in the Finals of the past two editions of the FIBA Women’s EuroBasket. We are very happy with today’s decision to have the two best European basketball nations co-host this flagship event.”

The 37th edition of the FIBA Women’s EuroBasket took place this month, with co-hosts Latvia and Serbia. The confirmed co-hosts for 2021 were the two strongest teams of the tournament with Spain continuing their incredible run of success, winning their fourth title and their third in the last four editions of the tournament.

France and Serbia rounded out the podium with second and third-place finishes, respectively, with Great Britain reaching the last four for the first time and claiming fourth place overall.

The men’s EuroBasket has Germany awarded both the Group Phase, to be played in Cologne, and the Final Phase to be played in Berlin. Prague, Tbilisi   and Milan will each stage Group Phases.

Demirel added: “We are extremely happy with today’s decision to continue our tradition of multi-hosting.

”The 2021 edition will bring both experience and new ideas with Germany already hosting the EuroBasket four times, most recently in the Group Phase of the 2015 edition, and Georgia coming in as a first time organiser. All four co-hosts are passionate basketball nations.”


Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • MySpace
  • Print

You must be logged in to post a comment Login