Jo Leedham and Parker Jackson-Cartwright have picked up the two leading honours in the end of season awards.

Jackson-Cartwright, the rookie guard out of Arizona, has been named as BBL Player of the Year for 2019-20 following a brilliant debut campaign with Cheshire Phoenix, averaging 20.2 points, 7.4 assists and 3.7 steals a game.

“It feels good to win this award,” Jackson-Cartwright said.

“My hard work has certainly paid off, but I couldn’t have won this award without my team-mates, coaching staff and the support of the Nix nation.

“I feel that Cheshire is a franchise moving in the right direction, building a winning culture and they always put the interests of the players first.

‘I had a lot of fun playing in the blue and yellow threads this season.”

Newcastle Eagles centre C.J. Gettys finished second in the voting with London Lions’ Ovie Soko in third.

Leedham-Warner was crowned Syd Lipski International Player of the Year, beating out Great Britain team-mate Temi Fagbenle in the wake of their team’s astonishing run to the 2019 EuroBasket Women’s semi-finals.

The Ellesmere Port native averaged 11.6 points and 2.8 rebounds for the Turkish side Orman Genclik in the EuroCup Women this season.

Elan Chalon forward Myles Hesson finished in second and Manresa’s Luke Nelson third.

Glasgow Rocks’ Vincent Lavandier, who had the Scottish side within reach of the British Basketball League title when the campaign was wiped out due to coronavirus, was named BBL Coach of the Year in the voting compiled by the Basketball Journalists Association.

“I want to thank my players because without them, their dedication and their support, I could not have been rewarded,” said Lavandier, who has been linked with a switch to French side Avignon in the wake of an acknowledgement from the Rocks that they are primed for hefty budget cuts – and, potentially, fewer imports – next season to offset income losses caused by the lockdown.

“It is a great honour to be named coach of the year in the BBL by the sport’s journalists.”

Soko, who made a terrific transition from the Spanish ACB to his homeland, takes the Pete Jacques BBL British Player of the Year.

Surrey Scorchers’ Tayo Ogedengbe was second and Cheshire’s Ben Mockford third.

Jasmine Joyner wins the Women’s Player of the Year (Ahmedphotos)

While Nottingham Wildcats’ Jasmine Joyner won the Women’s Player of the Year, having averaged an impressive 19.1 points, 13.1 rebounds and 2.2 blocks.

“With everything happening in this world right now, this is some good news that I like hearing and it makes me miss basketball even more,” Joyner said.

“It’s because of my team-mates that I won this award. They make this game fun, but this award is also for Pauline Prior.

“We lost a basketball legend and I must say the way we finished the interrupted season was amazing and I know Mrs Prior was with us in spirit, so this is for her.

Leicester Riders’ Icelandic international Sara Hinriksdottir finished second in voting with last year’s Player of the Year, Cat Carr from the Sevenoaks Suns, coming in third.

Photo: Ahmedphotos

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • MySpace
  • Print

You must be logged in to post a comment Login